Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Mental Health Therapist Tax Deductions

Hello! I am a Mental Health Therapist. I opened my own Practice (PLLC) in January in Texas. My case load is starting to grow and I would like to know what sort of percentages I should be putting to the side for when it's time to pay into taxes. For example when I worked for a company they took automatically took out for whatever Texas taxes were (social security, etc.). 

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

2 Replies
JanetKT
Employee Tax Expert

@Rajamubeenali

As a contractor, you are considered Self employed. Yes your income and expenses will be included in your individual tax return. TurboTax does a great job of guiding you through your taxes in TurboTax Self Employed https://turbotax.intuit.com/personal-taxes/online/premium/

Also https://www.irs.gov/businesses/small-businesses-self-employed/self-employed-individuals-tax-center will walk all about how to file etc. TTonline does it easily and we also have experts that can complete your taxes for you!

Here are some great links with videos that are very through in explaining. https://turbotax.intuit.com/tax-tips/self-employment-taxes/the-self-employment-tax/L8xXjolB4

With being self employed your income after expenses will be taxed both self employment tax and Ordinary income tax. 

You are expected to pay estimated taxes throughout the year. Here is a link to help with that. Since you do not have throughout the year, the IRS and state (lucky in Texas we have no state income tax) encourage you to pay throughout year. Then you would enter those payments in your individual tax return.

Thanks for joining us today!

Janet CPA

Janet CPA

JaredS_CPA