Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

how do i account for old inventory (bought in 2017/18)

Hello everyone! I recently ramped up my ebay business and now need to complete a 1099k. This is my first time doing this. A majority of my inventory was bought in prior years (2017-2018). I was basically stock piling it so i could have enough to start a new, decent sized store. Sorry if this is a stupid question, but do i have to do anything special because this inventory was bought in a year other than 2019? Do i just add up all my receipts from those prior years and add it in with my 2019 costs?

Also, a majority of my receipts just say (electronic item - $12) for example, since a majority of it is from thrift stores. Will this be a problem for me? I know i should have been labeling them and taking more precaution. But i didn't label them all... Any help is appreciated.  Thanks!!

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Reply
Carl
Level 15

how do i account for old inventory (bought in 2017/18)

Inventory is dealt with in the Cost of Goods Sold (COGS) section. I am assuming that 2019 is the first year you are dealing with inventory. So its important that you understand that your BOY (Beginning of Year) inventory balance *MUST* be zero. There are no exceptions. It flat out does not matter in what tax year you purchased the inventory. What you paid for that inventory is not a deductible business expense until the tax year you actually sell that inventory. Again, it flat out *does* *not* *matter* in what tax year you purchased it either. Here's a few examples of how COGS works.