turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Home Office and Renting a Room

Hello -

I am a self employed musician, and I have a large, detached studio behind the house that I purchased earlier this year. I also rent out a bedroom in my house. I am struggling to divide up my depreciation deductions for this year - do I need to subtract the cost basis of my home office from the total value of my house before calculating depreciation on my rental room? Or do I just use both percentages on the total value of the home? I apologize if this doesn’t make total sense - juggling the deductions for the two separate spaces has been a struggle. Any advice is much appreciated! Thank you 🙂 

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

5 Replies
AnnetteB6
Employee Tax Expert

If the detached studio was a separate purchase and it is used 100% for your business, just depreciate the cost of the studio separately as a business asset on its own.  Do not consider it a 'home office' in this case, since it is not a part of your home, but a separate structure.

Otherwise, if you are considering the cost of the studio and the cost of the house as one single unit, you would use the same cost basis in both scenarios.  The depreciation would be calculated on the percent of the total house that is being used for each purpose, generally based on the percent of the total square feet being rented or used as a home office.  

@Laura30

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"