Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Event: Ask the Experts about your refund > RSVP NOW!
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Hobby Sales generating 1099

I am a hobbyist and am retired. I have reached the age where I need to start liquidating my vast array of parts purchased at flea markets and garage sales.
Last year I sold less than 200 lots totally just over $2,000.
The problem for this year I have no memory or documentation of what I paid for these parts, sometimes over 20+ years ago.
I dread the thought of paying taxes on the gross amount but have no idea on the cost of goods.
I know that some items will sell for less than I paid and some more.
I will know my EBay and PayPal fees which can offset the gross amounts.

What do I do for cost of goods?
Will I need to pay any Self Employment tax?
One suggestion I saw posted was to just list an amount as a negative equal to the gross sales.

Thanks

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

2 Replies
Laura_CPA
Employee Tax Expert

Hi Oldradio99,

I hope you are having a good day 🙂! I understand your concern here, happy to help. If you purchased all these parts with the intent to not make a profit, then this is treated as a hobby. Unfortunately, under the new Tax Reform, hobby expenses cannot be used to offset hobby income, so you'll have to report your income on Schedule I, Line 8 of your 1040 and this income will not be subject to self-employment tax.