Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

End of year actions?

I'm just starting out as an independent contractor (consulting) this year. I had a W2 job until being laid off in May of this year and have received some unemployment payments (and opted to withhold tax). I have yet to receive any income from independent consulting but will have before the end of the year. However, I really do not know how much I will receive before the end of the year.  Using the taxcaster, it is estimating a refund of ~$2000 for income earned to date. 

What actions do I need to take, if any, for this year? Can I just wait until January to sort it out once I know my actual self-employment income for this year?

Thank you!

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
CatherineR
Employee Tax Expert

End of year actions?

Congrads on your self employment job for 2023!

Looks like you have done your homework using our Tax Caster tool.  You have until January 16th, 2024 to make the last estimated tax payment.  By then you should know how much income you received for 2023.  Update the Tax Caster with your latest information before that date to see if your refund situation holds.  

You may also want to check that you have reached one of the safe harbor levels to avoid penalties.  Here is more information about that:

How to avoid IRS penalties 

Good luck on your new employment venture!

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"

View solution in original post

4 Replies
Sean Enrolled Agent
Employee Tax Expert

End of year actions?

Hello,
Welcome to the world of self-employment!