Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Do I benefit from paying quarterly taxes over standard filing?

Greetings,

I am a freelancer in the film and television industry. The vast majority of my jobs are W2 payroll; however, I do tend to do invoices for 1099 income as well. My understanding has always been that if I paid quarterly taxes, I could manage my business versus personal expenses a lot easier relating to deducting my overall taxable income. However, I have been using Intuit Self-Employed for years now, though I haven't utilized the quarterly tax feature because I never saw the benefit in it. Can you help me figure out if this product is the most efficient and cost-savings way for me to manage my expenses and income over the year? I end up having dozens of 1099s and W2s by the end of the year! 

Also, it's important to note that I do not have an LLC or S-Corp, and I very, very rarely "hire" a contractor to work for me. 

Thanks!

Zak 

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

3 Replies
AnnetteJD
Employee Tax Expert

Hi ZakNorton! 

My general answer is yes, TurboTax is the best way to do this, but I have a couple of questions first.

1. Do you generally end up owing taxes at the end of year - either self-employment tax on your 1099NEC income or income tax on your W-2 income?

2. How are you keeping track of your expenses for your Schedule C? 

1. I do not end up owing taxes at the end of the year. 

2. I subscribe to the QuickBooks Self-Employed app that allows me to select if each expense is a business or personal expense.