TurboTax HelpTurboTax HelpIntuit

How do I clear and start over in TurboTax Online?

SOLVEDby TurboTaxTurboTax Online43909Updated February 18, 2022

As long as you haven't submitted payment, deducted the TurboTax fee from your refund, or registered your product, you can erase your return and start from scratch in TurboTax Online. If you have done any of these things, you'll need to manually edit your return.

Here's how to clear and start over:

  1. Sign in to TurboTax and open or continue your return, if you haven’t already
  2. Select Tax Tools from the left menu, then Clear & Start Over
  3. Answer Yes to confirm

We also have instructions on how to clear and start over in the mobile app.

Was this helpful?

You must sign in to vote, reply, or post
TurboTax Desktop BasicTurboTax Desktop BusinessTurboTax Desktop DeluxeTurboTax Desktop Home and BusinessTurboTax Desktop PremierTurboTax Live BasicTurboTax Live DeluxeTurboTax Live Full Service BasicTurboTax Live Full Service Complex IncomeTurboTax Live Full Service Complex Self-EmployedTurboTax Live Full Service DeluxeTurboTax Live Full Service PremierTurboTax Live Full Service Self-employedTurboTax Live PremierTurboTax Live Self-employedTurboTax Mobile Apps DeluxeTurboTax Mobile Apps FreeTurboTax Mobile Apps PremierTurboTax Mobile Apps Self-employedTurboTax Online DeluxeTurboTax Online FreeTurboTax Online PremierTurboTax Online Self-employed
Dynamic AdsDynamic Ads