Why sign in to the Community?

• Submit a question
  • Check your notifications
Sign in to the Community or Sign in to TurboTax and start working on your taxes
Level 1
posted Jan 22, 2020 7:33:15 AM

What state am I a resident of? What states should I file state returns for?

I grew up in Alabama. I currently have an Alabama license and my car is still registered there.

I was a student at the University of Kentucky until May 2019. I had two part time jobs there making less than $3000 total. 

In June of 2019, I relocated to Illinois for a salaried position. I am in a 18-24 month rotational program so I did not change my residency. However, I do rent an apartment and pay bills here. 

How should I file my taxes? Do I file a resident state tax return for Alabama although I didn’t earn any income there? Do I file non-resident for Kentucky? Illinois? 

0 3 584
3 Replies
Expert Alumni
Jan 22, 2020 7:57:01 AM

No, you don't have to file an Alabama income tax return.

While you were at the University of KY, your resident state was Alabama.

• If all you earned was $3,000 in KY, you don't have to file with Kentucky because your modified gross income is not greater than $12,490; however, you will want to file a non-resident return to claim a refund of any Kentucky income tax withheld. See KY Department of Revenue Frequently asked questions.

While you're in IL, you'll file a part-year resident income tax return for the income you earned since June, 2019. See How do I file a part-year state return?

Related information

Level 1
Jan 22, 2020 9:00:00 AM

@HelenC12 thank you so much! 

I seen something on the Alabama Department of Revenue site that said that an  Alabama resident that has earned a income of $4000 or more whether within or out of Alabama must file a State Tax Return. 

Does this not apply to me?

https://revenue.alabama.gov/individual-corporate/faq/individual-income-tax/

Expert Alumni
Jan 22, 2020 12:22:34 PM