Why sign in to the Community?

• Submit a question
  • Check your notifications
Sign in to the Community or Sign in to TurboTax and start working on your taxes
Returning Member
posted Apr 9, 2020 3:17:34 PM

Two 1042-S forms and Bangladesh-US tax treaty

I am an international student from Bangladesh. I have been in the US since 2014 on an F-1 visa. Since I am a resident alien for tax purposes, using TurboTax is one of the only options available to me. So far, I am having a lot of trouble with filing through TurboTax.

It doesn’t allow 1042-S. Bangladesh has a tax treaty with the US. How do I input that information?

To make matters worse, I have changed universities. I held a GA position in both universities and as such, had incomes from two different universities during 2019. So, I have two different 1042-S.

I am utterly confused. Why must this be so difficult?

1 18 7534
18 Replies
Expert Alumni
Apr 9, 2020 4:22:56 PM

The 1042S is not supported so you have to enter the parts separately. The good news, you can add them together for one entry.

For the income:

1. Go to federal
  2. to Income and Credits
  3. to last section, Less Common Income
  4. bottom selection, Miscellaneous Income
  5. Start
  6. bottom selection, Other Reportable Income
  7. Start
  8. Any Other Taxable Income?
  9. Yes
  10. 1042S income and enter the total of the 2 forms.
  11. Continue
  12. Click the blue Add Another Income Item on the left
  13. Enter  Bangladesh Treaty and the amount as a negative dollar
  14. Continue

If you have other information on the 1042S, it will need to be captured in the sections that match it in similar fashion. 

Returning Member
Apr 9, 2020 4:44:45 PM

Thank you! I really appreciate the help. I will try these steps.

Returning Member
Apr 9, 2020 5:02:07 PM

I am looking at the section and I don't see any 'Miscellaneous Income' under the less Common Items. Is it because I am using the free online version?

Returning Member
Apr 9, 2020 5:15:13 PM