Why sign in to the Community?

• Submit a question
  • Check your notifications
Sign in to the Community or Sign in to TurboTax and start working on your taxes
posted Jun 7, 2019 3:38:50 PM

Tax Year Prior to 2020: Are you required to file your 1098-T form?

I am a College student, and I'm curious if i am required to file my 1098-T.
Can you file taxes without it?

1 114 200906
24 Replies
Jun 7, 2019 3:38:54 PM

No, you don't have to report your 1098-T, not unless you want to claim an education credit.  However if your grant/scholarship amount (box 5) is more than your tuition (box 1/box 2) you may want to report it because excess scholarship money may be treated as taxable income on your return.

When you enter your 1098-T, we use this and other information to determine the educational benefits you may be eligible for on your tax return, such as the American Opportunity Credit, the Lifetime Learning Credit and the Tuition and Fees Deduction.

Jun 7, 2019 3:38:56 PM

How do you qualify for the American Opportunity Credit or lifetime learning credit? And how do you know if you have received them before (because it asks). I am 21 undergrad student, and its asking me if someone else can claim as a dependent. Right now, I am independent. My parents will not claim me. Also, after I put the 1098-t, $600 of the federal was taken away do you know why? Many thanks

Jun 7, 2019 3:38:57 PM

I don't understand the part that says, "you may want to report it" My box 5 is more than box 1/box 2, I entered my information and it reduced my tax return almost $800. So I may want to report it because it "may be treated as taxable income"? If I don't have to report it, and reporting it lowers my projected tax return, then why should I report it?

Jun 7, 2019 3:38:59 PM

Secondly, if Box 5 being more than box 1 is what causes it to be taxable income then why tell people it does not have to be reported?

Jun 7, 2019 3:39:01 PM