Why sign in to the Community?

• Submit a question
  • Check your notifications
Sign in to the Community or Sign in to TurboTax and start working on your taxes
Level 3
posted Apr 18, 2023 8:47:35 AM

Help! How do I determine which state I was a resident of?

I worked in Missouri for 7 months in 2022. Since I was laid off, I moved in with my Parents in Arizona for the remaining 5 months as I looked for a new job. I don't know which state my new job will be in. For income tax purposes, how do I determine my state of residence? Missouri makes sense as I worked there and I am in Arizona only temporarily. Arizona may make sense because my driver's license is from Arizona; however, I have never worked in or gone to school in Arizona. 

Help!

0 10 584
10 Replies
Level 15
Apr 18, 2023 8:52:12 AM

You do not need to file an AZ return since you did not work or earn income in AZ.  File a part year return for MO.

Level 3
Apr 18, 2023 9:25:51 AM

Thanks! However my W2 shows my AZ income to be the same as all of my income for 2022 and shows no MO income. I called my company, and they say they are sending me another W2 which will show my AZ income = my MO income = all my income for 2022. When I asked them to explain that apparently illogical statement, they said they are escalating the issue to explain their logic. 

Level 15
Apr 18, 2023 9:31:25 AM

Wait---now the story changes.  You said you were laid off and did not work in AZ and just lived with your parents while you looked for a job.  Now you say you have a W-2 with AZ wages on it.    smh

Level 3
Apr 18, 2023 9:40:14 AM

All that is true. Never worked in Arizona. Worked only in MO in 2022. W2 shows income in AZ, maybe because when the company sent me the W2, I was with my parents in AZ. 

Level 15
Apr 18, 2023 9:44:48 AM

You could request an extension while you wait for a corrected W-2 from the employer.  If you owe tax, pay the estimated tax due now.