Why sign in to the Community?

• Submit a question
  • Check your notifications
Sign in to the Community or Sign in to TurboTax and start working on your taxes
posted Jun 7, 2019 4:00:34 PM

Form 8606 Non deductible IRA tracking

I have been using Turbotax for 10 years.  I thought Form 8606 was supposed to track your total basis in traditional IRAs by adding to line 2 each year.  Why doesn't Turbotax include the previous years contributions?

0 30 9382
1 Best answer
Level 15
Jun 7, 2019 4:00:38 PM

TurboTax does.  However, it's all too easy to cause TurboTax to silently discard the transferred-in basis information by inadvertently answering No when asked if you made any nondeductible traditional IRA contributions.  Once discarded, the historical information is gone.  The only way to recover the information is to either manually reenter the amount or to start the tax return over and transfer in the historical information again.

24 Replies
Jun 7, 2019 4:00:35 PM

Where in TurboTax is the 8606 form?

Level 15
Jun 7, 2019 4:00:37 PM

@ldnelsonhas1 - The 8606 form is automatic if you need it.

You don't normally enter a 8606 itself.  It is automatically created when:

1) You make a new non-deductible Traditional IRA contribution.
2) You take a distribution from a IRA that has a after-tax "basis".
3) You make a conversion of a retirement account to a Roth IRA

If none of those occurred, then the last filed 8606 remains in effect

There are some circumstances when a 8606 must be files for other reasons and might require filing a stand-alone 8606.

<a rel="nofollow" target="_blank" href="https://ttlc.intuit.com/questions/1899503-what-is-form-8606-nondeductible-iras-used-for">https://ttlc.intuit.com/questions/1899503-what-is-form-8606-nondeductible-iras-used-for</a>

Level 15
Jun 7, 2019 4:00:38 PM