11tgarner

I am an independent consultant with Pampered Chef and I am not sure I put in my earning for that correctly. I claimed it as a business...is that correct?

Coleen3
Intuit Alumni

After you file

Yes, Independent Contractors and Self-Employed individuals claim income and expenses on Schedule C Profit or Loss from Business. there are two ways to enter income depending on whether or not you received a 1099 or not.

Report income with a 1099-Misc

While in your return, type “1099-misc” in the Search box and then select the “Jump to” link. This will take you directly to the section where you can enter your 1099-MISC.

After you’ve entered the information from your 1099-MISC, TurboTax will ask a series of questions to determine if your 1099-MISC income is from self-employment or is ordinary income.

Report income without a 1099. 

• Click on Federal Taxes on the top row of TurboTax Deluxe Online.
  • Click Wages & Income
  • Under All Income, click Show all income
  • Scroll to Self-Employment, click Start
  • Click Yes to Did you have any self-employment income or expenses?
  • Enter any income from sales or services that weren't reported on Forms 1099-MISC
jarrett1

After you file

Hi, for direct sales "consultants" like Pampered Chef, Avon, etc., with very sparse, borderline non-existent, sales, which level of TurboTax would be required to be able to report ? I'm looking at not even enough in sales or expenses to make up for the cost increase between Premier and Small Business. We don't seem to get a 1099-MISC to report and we don't have a need to generate any W-2s or 1099s for employees/ or subcontractors, but we do have some income to report and a handful of receipts here and there to put down.

Should Premier do everything I need?

After you file

If you buy the Desktop CD/Download program you can use any version, even Deluxe.  All the Desktop programs have the same forms. You just get more help and guidance in the higher versions.