TurboTax HelpTurboTax HelpIntuit

Which states don't have income tax?

SOLVEDby TurboTax3715Updated December 21, 2021

Alaska, Florida, Nevada, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Washington, and Wyoming don't have income tax. If you're a resident of one of these states, you don't need to file a return in that state.

New Hampshire residents only file a tax return if their interest and dividend income (not wages, earnings, or other income) exceeds $2,400 ($4,800 for joint filers) plus additional exemptions for age, blindness, and disability.

If you're a resident of a state with income tax and you earned income in a tax-free state, you need to report that income on your resident state return.

For example, if you're a California resident and worked in tax-free Texas, you'd still have to report your Texas earnings on your California return as well as your federal return.

Similarly, if you're a resident of tax-free Texas and earned money in California, you'd have to file a nonresident California return to report your earnings, and you'd report those on your federal return as well.

Was this helpful?

You must sign in to vote, reply, or post
TurboTax Desktop BasicTurboTax Desktop BusinessTurboTax Desktop DeluxeTurboTax Desktop Home and BusinessTurboTax Desktop PremierTurboTax Live BasicTurboTax Live DeluxeTurboTax Live Full Service BasicTurboTax Live Full Service Complex IncomeTurboTax Live Full Service Complex Self-EmployedTurboTax Live Full Service DeluxeTurboTax Live Full Service PremierTurboTax Live Full Service Self-employedTurboTax Live PremierTurboTax Live Self-employedTurboTax Mobile Apps DeluxeTurboTax Mobile Apps FreeTurboTax Mobile Apps PremierTurboTax Mobile Apps Self-employedTurboTax Online DeluxeTurboTax Online FreeTurboTax Online PremierTurboTax Online Self-employed
Dynamic AdsDynamic Ads