TurboTax HelpTurboTax HelpIntuit

How do I clear and start over?

SOLVEDby TurboTax57134Updated 3 weeks ago

As long as you haven't submitted payment, deducted the TurboTax fee from your refund, or registered your product, you can erase your return and start from scratch in TurboTax Online. You can’t clear and start over if you've done any of these things, so you'll need to manually edit your return.

You can also select Switch to Free Edition by following the steps here. Note: TurboTax Free Edition is for customers who are filing Form 1040 and limited credits only. Roughly 37% of taxpayers qualify. If you have additional forms or attachments, you’ll need to use a different TurboTax product.

Select your product below and follow the steps to clear and start over.

  1. Sign in to TurboTax.
  2. From Tax Home, open or continue a section of your return.
  3. Select Tax Tools from the left menu, then Clear & Start Over.
  4. Answer Yes to confirm.
  1. Sign in to the mobile app and select More from the bottom menu.
  2. Select Clear and Start Over.
  3. Select Clear and Start Over to confirm.

Was this helpful?

You must sign in to vote, reply, or post
Dynamic AdsDynamic Ads