" have been removed as an authorized user on the card"
That doesn't matter. The information remains on your credit report for anywhere from 3-10 years (generally 5 years for a credit card). It will not fall off your credit report until "AFTER" that particular account is closed. Once closed, if the issuer notifies the credit bureaus then it will be marked as "closed" on your credit report, and will remain on your credit report as such for at least three years generally.
Basically, I "think" the issuer can mark it on "your" credit report as closed. But I'm not sure. If the account is actually still open, there's nothing to keep the current authorized user(s) from adding you back as such.