Retirement tax questions

With married filing separately and one spouse covered by a retirement plan, neither spouse can contribute to a deductible IRA or a Roth IRA.

As far as contributing non-deductible money to a traditional IRA, you're going to need to see a tax or investment advisor.  Contributing non-deductible money to a traditional IRA is, IMHO, unwise.  At best, it is basically the same as investing in a mutual fund through a stockbroker, except with more rules and paperwork and higher taxes on withdrawals.  The only advantage might be access to funds with lower commissions and cost ratios.

Now, I am not an expert, but for most middle class taxpayers it looks something like this

Deductible IRA: Tax-free deposits (saves 25% or more on income tax), withdrawals taxed at 25% (or less depending on your tax bracket in retirement), 10% early withdrawal penalty if you need the money early.

Roth IRA: fully taxed on deposit, withdrawals are tax-free. 10% penalty on early withdrawals of the gains but no penalty on withdrawing the principle.

Mutual fund (not a tax instrument): fully taxed on deposit, interest at 25% tax, gains at 15% tax, no penalties for early withdrawals.

Non-deductible traditional IRA: fully taxed on deposit, 25% tax on withdrawals (least savings/most tax), 10% penalty for early withdrawals.

In short, making non-deductible contributions to a traditional IRA makes your future tax returns more complicated, and ties up your money with the early withdrawal penalty without any offsetting benefits of tax savings either going in or coming out.  

----------