ras569

1.Do my heirs take my Master Limited Partnerships [ETP] held in regular accounts with a stepped up basis without the need to repay deferred distributions upon my death?

GeoffreyG

Retirement tax questions

Basically, yes.  Please allow me a moment to explain.

As a tax professional, I happen to know the answer to this question because I had an experience with a client a few years ago, who passed away owning several MLP (Master Limited Partnership) investments.  They were held in a regular, otherwise taxable, brokerage account.  The owner had owned most of them for over a decade, and several of the MLPs were highly appreciated in per unit share price, as well as having a much lowered tax basis (because of all the cash distributions made by the MLPs during the time that he'd held them).

When this investor passed away, here's essentially what happened and what I learned.

1) The MLP shares are valued at their actual market price on the date-of-death for estate tax calculation purposes.

2) Whatever Will, Living Trust, or other testamentary instrument that may exist comes into force to direct the estate to distribute the MLP shares and other assets to the inheritor(s).  If the brokerage account has a surviving joint owner, then the account will go to them.  Absent any testamentary directives, the intestacy laws of the state of the deceased will direct who inherits what.