LLC-freelance
Returning Member

LLC taxed as a corporation - what happens & how?

I may file Form 8832 to reclassify my LLC as an "association taxable as a corporation", or form 2553 to elect status as an S Corp.

Staffing agencies frequently offer work called "W2 Hourly" and "Corp-to-Corp" (C2C). One has specifically stated "no 1099" and will accept an "LLC, *excluding single-member LLCs taxed as disregarded entities*". As a freelancer, I'd like to support as many types of compensation as possible.

Form 8832 or 2553?
What effect would this change bring?

What's the broadest range of income types I could support? Able to accept 1099 work in the future?

Would tax year 2019 be part "disregarded entity", part "taxable as corp"?

Current setup:

Single-member LLC taxed as "disregarded entity". Founded 2014 in Texas.

Solo401k - five years of max contributions.

All LLC income to date has been reported on 1099.

US Citizen. Serving US clients thus far.

Carl
Level 15

Business & farm

Mind if I ask a few questions of my own first?

Why are you considering filing the entity reclassification to be classified as an S-Corp? I assume you already know that a corporation is taxed at a higher rate than a disregarded entity.

What does your business do? Provide services? Sell product? Both? Maybe it owns and manages real estate of some type?

" As a freelancer, I'd like to support as many types of compensation as possible."

Exactly what do you mean by "support" as many types of compensation as possible? Does your business have employees? You state "as a freelancer" so I doubt you have any employees, or even any subcontractors you pay for that matter.  So I'm really not clear on this at all.