On parents' returns, I come up as "Nondependent - for EIC/dependent care only." As a college student, can I file myself as an independent if I supported myself in 2017?

Hello! I would greatly appreciate answers to my current situation.

I was a full-time college student in 2017 (I graduated in December 2017) and supported myself fully (i.e. my parents did not pay for any of my expenses).

My parents who are married and filing jointly answered that I lived with them "the whole year" (this seems to be the right answer based on research even though I lived away from them at college) and stated that I supported myself in 2017. TurboTax then listed me on their tax return as "nondependent - for EIC/dependent care only."

These are my questions to the above situation:

1. Based on more research, it seems that this "nondependent - for EIC/dependent care only" status is only applicable to couples who are divorced/separated. If so, why is this status coming up for me even though my parents are married and filing jointly?

2. If this "nondependent - for EIC/dependent care only" status is still applicable to married couples and my parents claim me as such, am I allowed to file my taxes and claim myself as an independent?

3. If this "nondependent - for EIC/dependent care only" status is not applicable to children of married couples filing jointly, how should my parents list me on their tax return and how should I list myself on my own tax return if I supported myself during 2017?

Thank you very much for your help!

Get your taxes done using TurboTax

You are correct - nondependent is *only* for divorced or separated parent that have not lived together at any time dire the last 6 months of the year.   Even when correct, you would still be a dependent because non-dependent on one parents tax return implies that you are a dependent on the other parents tax return.  In this case it would seem to be a data entry error.