Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Can I declare my nonresident alien children as my dependents and claim child tax credit?

According to the substantial presence test I'm a resident alien, since I've been in the US for over 183 days during 2015. My children however have come to the US later than me and have been in the US for less than 183 days during 2015 (and 0 days in the years before), therefore they're still nonresident aliens.

During 2015 my children have lived with me for over 6 months, but not all this time was in the US, part of it was in my home country. My wife does not work and does not have any income.

Can I declare my children as my dependents and claim child tax credit?

x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions

Can I declare my nonresident alien children as my dependents and claim child tax credit?

First, you yourself are a dual status alien.

As a dual status alien you would file a dual status return, which is not supported by Turbotax.