TurboTax FAQ
TurboTax FAQ
1242 people found this useful

I received an email about a return with my information being on hold

TurboTax is committed to protecting your personal information. If we detect that your information is used in more than one account, we’ll notify you to make sure that you recognize the activity.

If you were notified that a tax return that contains your information is being filed and that the return is being placed on hold for 48 hours, this may be a signal that someone is trying to use your identity to file a tax return. The return has been placed on hold to give you an opportunity to cancel it if it doesn’t belong to you.

If you received this notification unexpectedly, or if you are not currently filing your taxes with TurboTax, it is important that you call TurboTax Customer Support at the number provided in your email. After the 48 hour period is over, TurboTax will transmit the return in accordance with IRS regulations.

Here are some other reasons you may have received this email:

  • You have used TurboTax in the past and are using a different account this year. This can including moving from our Desktop product to our Online product.
  • You changed your filing status from last year, and for that reason, are filing with a different TurboTax account this year.
  • You have created multiple TurboTax accounts this year, or in prior years.

If you have not taken any of the actions noted above, it may indicate that someone is trying to use your information to file a tax return. Please Contact Us and one of our agents can assist you.

Learn more about how TurboTax safeguards your data.


GEN87446