TurboTax FAQ
TurboTax FAQ
65 people found this useful

As a same-sex couple, what filing status should we choose on our state return?

The 2015 Supreme Court decision now requires all legally-married same-sex couples to file as married (either jointly or separately) on their state tax returns.

Prior to the Supreme Court decision, there were 13 "holdout" states that didn't permit same-sex marriage partners to file as married:  Alabama, Arkansas, Georgia, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Missouri, Mississippi, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, and Tennessee.

If you filed your returns in one of these states for 2014, you have the option to amend for filing married jointly or separately. However, you are not required to do so.