TurboTax FAQ
TurboTax FAQ
901 people found this useful

How do I delete a prior-year Schedule C business that transferred over?

Don't delete your business if it closed sometime in 2016. Instead, report the business and make sure you select I sold (or disposed of) my business in 2016 on the Tell us about your business screen.

Otherwise, follow these instructions to delete a business that transferred over from your 2016 return but is no longer owned by you as of January 1, 2016.

Instructions

  1. With your return open, search for this exact phrase: business (schedule c) (include the parentheses) and then click the "Jump to" link in the search results.
  2. Answer Yes when asked if you had (or want to work on) business income and expenses for 2016.
    • That's right – you'll need to answer Yes, even though it doesn't make sense.
    • If you're being forced to upgrade to Home & Business or Self-Employed, contact us for further assistance.
  3. When you get to the Business info or Business Summary screen, click Delete next to the defunct business.
  4. Answer Yes to confirm the removal of all business-related forms.

Related Information:


HOW14026