turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Working for an international organization and Covid stimulus check

Hello all,

I am a consultant for the World Bank and I am resident in the US (greencard holder). As per an agreement between the institution and the US government, I do not need to file taxes. Thus, I have not been filing them since I started working there in Jan 2018. What do I need to do to receive the stimulus check?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

4 Replies

If you have not filed a 2019 tax return and you are not required to file a tax return and you do not receive Social Security benefits, then use this TurboTax website to register for the stimulus - https://turbotax.intuit.com/stimulus-check/

Thank you. 

One more question: the TurboTax gives me 2 options:

1. I don’t meet the minimum requirements to file a tax return. I’m registering to get my stimulus payment. I agree to have you submit a minimal tax return document on my behalf.

2. I will file a full tax return. We’ll take you to tax prep, so you can file your taxes. Then the IRS will automatically issue the stimulus payment you’re due.

I am not sure where I fit because I don't file taxes just because of the agreement between the World Bank and the US government not because I don't meet 'the minimum requirements to file a tax return'. 

I think I should go with option 1. What do you think?

@nicolebouris wrote:

Thank you. 

One more question: the TurboTax gives me 2 options:

1. I don’t meet the minimum requirements to file a tax return. I’m registering to get my stimulus payment. I agree to have you submit a minimal tax return document on my behalf.