turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

mads1800

tax question

This is my first year filing for taxes. I didnt know u had to have both of your W2's before filing. I did my first job awhile ago and i got my second one today but it wont let me add another W2. what do i do?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

2 Replies

tax question

Did you already actually file?  

You cannot change or add anything on the return that you e-filed.  It is too late, just like when you put an envelope in a US mailbox

Now you have to wait until the IRS either rejects or accepts your return after they open on Jan 27.  If your return is rejected, you will be able to go into your account and add or change it and resend it.

If the IRS accepts your return, then you have to wait until it has been fully processed and you have received your refund.  THEN you can prepare an amended tax return 1040X and mail it in. You cannot e-file an amended return.  Meanwhile, DO NOT change anything on your return until you start the amended return.  If you did change or add the missing info then take it out and put your return back to the way it was when you first filed it.

Post back after the IRS accepts the return for amending instructions.

tax question

SO sorry to hear that.   

Note for future years,...never file until sometime in mid-late Feb.  You need ALL of your tax forms before filing.

You cannot do anything until the IRS actually attempts to process your tax file.  Since you filed so early, they are not expected to "start" processing files until the week of 27 Jan  (though they pull some test files early).