turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Thewardssince2013
Returning Member

What's the difference between doing it online and purchasing the program at target? My husband is W-2's and this is my first year being self-employed. What do I need?

Which items do I need for being self-employed? Which program would work best for my husband's W-2's and my self-employment. This is my first year I'm filing as self-employed. Thank you for your help!

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

2 Replies

What's the difference between doing it online and purchasing the program at target? My husband is W-2's and this is my first year being self-employed. What do I need?

Some advantages of the Desktop CD/Download program over the Online version,  <a rel="nofollow" target="_blank" href="https://ttlc.intuit.com/questions/2750704-what-are-the-advantages-of-the-turbotax-cd-download-softwa...>

All the Desktop versions have the same forms so you can use a lower version.  You just get more help in the higher versions.

And the Desktop program can do unlimited returns and efile 5 Federal for free.
You can see and enter directly into the actual forms.
There is a What-If worksheet.

The Online web version is different than the Desktop CD/Download program you install.  The pricing structure is totally different.