turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Design655
Returning Member

W2 Discrepency

Okay, so I have unique(ish) tax situation that can't be easily covered in a random Google search for "tax advice". I'm not looking to get anyone in trouble (yet, anyway), so I'm going to keep details sparse for the time being:

I have been working for a small company in CT for about 3 1/2 years. Since the day I was hired, I have been signed up for direct deposit, and for a long while, that was how I received all of my pay (we use ADP for payroll). This last year and a half or so, my boss has begun paying me more and more with personal checks, which he lead myself (and the other employee that held the same position I did) to simply be a result of absent-mindedness. The paychecks were for the after tax amount, so I assumed that money for social security, medicare, et al were being deposited as they should be, and come tax season, everything would be in order.

Well...in looking at my W-2 (from ADP), it appears that only the amount paid via direct deposit is reflected—which makes sense. The amount covered in personal checks (over 3/4 of my annual pay) is not reflected anywhere, which again, makes sense. Now, I pointed this out to my employer, and he basically explained to me exactly what I just explained to you. That said, he has offered no solutions as to where that money went, or how I should go about reporting it in my taxes, other than to "talk to my accountant"...which I don't have, nor can I particularly afford.