turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

US China Tax Treaty for F1 OPT RA

Hi,

I graduated from university and I am currently on F1 OPT while working for a tech company. I have become a RA for tax purposes so may I ask if the US-China tax treaty Article 20 ($5000 tax credit) still applies to me? 

Thanks a lot!

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
pk
Level 15
Level 15

@biyao73 , the article you refer to is indeed applicable to you  , provided you have not any steps  to (a) declare that you are no longer learning  i.e. either in school or  practical training like CPT/OPT and (b) that you  have taken no steps move yourself from "temporarily" in the US to a more permanent posture  like applying for  permanent residence. 

Thus assuming that you are still on your F visa and have become a Resident for Tax Purposes only because you have passed the SPT, you are still eligible to assert  article 20 of the US/China tax treaty conditions to exclude  the first US$5000 of annual income from US taxation.  Also note that the article does not put a time limit -- just "reasonable time ".

Where I have worries would be the case where one Resident for Tax purposes  student marries US citizen--- it is murky water and IRS will decide on a case by case basis  depending on exact facts and circumstances.

Does that help ?

pk

@tagteam 

View solution in original post

11 Replies

@pk?

pk
Level 15
Level 15