turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Resident Alien or Dual Status Alien?

How should I file my tax return for 2019?
I am a single man who entered US in August 2015 and my H-1B visa was approved on February 15, 2019.

Details of my stay in US:
2015 - F1 (139 days)
2016 - F1 (345 days)
2017 - F1 (344 days)
2018 - F1 (365 days)
2019 - F1 (46 days), H-1B (315 days)
2020 - H-1B (114 days as of today)

So am I a resident alien or a dual status alien?

Also if I'm a dual status alien can I file as a resident alien as I was a NR alien only for 45 days in the beginning of the year and for the rest year I was a resident alien.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
pk
Level 15
Level 15

@adiiaditya , assuming that this was your first F-1 entry to the USA,  you were exempt from counting days present till 12/31/2019 and therefore on-Resident Alien for the entire 2019.  However because your status was changed  ( not approved  but actually adjusted ) in Feb 2019, you would start counting days present from that day on.  This would mean that you would have met the substantial Presence Test sometime in August of 2019.  Thus you are a dual status taxpayer/person for 2019.    Your filing options are :

(1) file as dual status person --- 1040-NR covering  ONLY US sourced/connected income from Jan 1st till meeting the substantial Presence Test ( sometime in August 2019 ) AND   file 1040 covering the rest of the  year on world-wide income.  Note that TurboTax does not support form 1040-NR  ( use SprinTax, Tax Professional or similar )