turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

NJPat
Returning Member

I serve on the scientific advisory board of a private company; can my honorarium listed as a royalty on my 1099-MISC be declared qualified business income?

I am a college professor.  This is part of my other income that includes editing and review work.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

2 Replies
Cindy0H

I serve on the scientific advisory board of a private company; can my honorarium listed as a royalty on my 1099-MISC be declared qualified business income?

No, since I assume the royalty is going on a Schedule E. The Qualified Business Income Deduction applies to:

This new deduction applies to Schedule C filers (sole proprietorships and other self-employed businesses), LLCs, partnerships, S corporations, estates, and trusts. Certain rental enterprises may also qualify. Corporations are not eligible because they received their own tax breaks under the TCJA.

If you have other questions about this, ask in the comment section below.

This is a complicated issue. Here is a great FAQ that explains it all:

https://ttlc.intuit.com/replies/7019998

Alomega
Returning Member

Why hasn't everyone discovered that 1099MISC or 1099 anything have been deemed by the Tax Court of Appeals as "insufficient evidence" on its own to establish a taxpayer's income?  Why do you think there IRS provides a form 1099c (c represents the correction to an issued 1099 from a source) to correct this mistake by the issuer of the 1099.  As evidence of these statements I provide the following  court citations:

Estate of Gryder v. Commissioner,

T.C. Memo. 1993141,

1993 WL 97427,  T.C.M. (CCH)2298,