turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

I just worked for a month as an assistant, making only $1300 i believe, am i still required to file a tax return for 2021?

I worked for a month for my dad’s company and I think  I only made some $1300 dollars in 2021, i just had one job in my life since i am a college student and it’s that one. Am i still required to file a tax return for 2021?

my dad can still claim me in his taxes as a dependent just so you know

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

8 Replies

I just worked for a month as an assistant, making only $1300 i believe, am i still required to file a tax return for 2021?

Who has to file?

http://www.irs.gov/uac/Do-I-Need-to-File-a-Tax-Return%3F

**Disclaimer: Every effort has been made to offer the most correct information possible. The poster disclaims any legal responsibility for the accuracy of the information that is contained in this post.**

Me, i am the one who needs to

file, i think 

Was any tax withheld from your pay ---- will you get a W-2?  Click the link I gave you.

**Disclaimer: Every effort has been made to offer the most correct information possible. The poster disclaims any legal responsibility for the accuracy of the information that is contained in this post.**

Yes, i had tax withheld from my paychecks and I will receive a W-2 by the end of january

It depends if he gives you a W2 or 1099NEC or no form for it.    If you get a W2 you only have to file to get back any withholding taken out in box 2.   But I have a feeling he didn't take taxes out of your pay and paid you as an independent contractor and it is self employment income.