turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

I am a contractor/My wife is an employee. When I pay my tax quarterly, should I file Single or Married Filing Jointly We always file tax returns "Married Filing Jointly"

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions

I am a contractor/My wife is an employee. When I pay my tax quarterly, should I file Single or Married Filing Jointly We always file tax returns "Married Filing Jointly"

When you pay quarterly estimated taxes you are not asked for a filing status...you will pay them using your SS# NOT a filing status. 

View solution in original post

7 Replies

Married Filing Jointly

If you were legally married at the end of 2019 you cannot file Single.  Are you confusing that with filing married filing separately?

If you were legally married at the end of 2019 your filing choices are married filing jointly or married filing separately.

Married Filing Jointly is usually better, even if one spouse had little or no income. When you file a joint return, you and your spouse will get the married filing jointly standard deduction of $24,400 (+$1300 for each spouse 65 or older)  You are eligible for more credits including education credits, earned income credit, child and dependent care credit, and a larger income limit to receive the child tax credit.