turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

lesterj

Gift to Pastor

Hi,

I am a pastor who is helping to start a new church. The church started in October of 2018. I was doing everything a pastor would normally do; however, I was not hired or paid. I received no pay as an employee or contractor. Near the end of the year, one of the members donated $5000 to the church for the purpose of giving the money to me as a gift. The gift was spontaneous and not part of an organized gift effort. I believe the person who gave the gift took a tax deduction for the gift.

1. Is this gift taxable?

2. If it is taxable, how should it be reported?

Thank you.

LesterJ

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

4 Replies

Gift to Pastor

Money that you receive as a gift is not taxable income to you, and you do not need to report it on your income tax return.  Money that you gave as a gift to someone else is not deductible for your taxes.

Turbo Tax does not support the gift tax form 709, but here is a link:

https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/f709.pdf

https://turbotax.intuit.com/tax-tips/estates/the-gift-tax-made-simple/L5tGWVC8N

https://www.forbes.com/sites/ashleaebeling/2017/10/19/irs-announces-2018-estate-and-gift-tax-limits-...

**Disclaimer: Every effort has been made to offer the most correct information possible. The poster disclaims any legal responsibility for the accuracy of the information that is contained in this post.**
Carl
Level 15

Gift to Pastor

Gifts received are not reported by the recipient of said gift on any tax return.

Gifts given are reportable by the giver if the amount or value of the gift given exceeds $15K in any one tax year.