turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

ss1811
Returning Member

Employer did not withhold FICA taxes after taxresidency status changed

Hi!

I am on an F-1 visa and was exempt from FICA taxes through 2020. I should be paying FICA in 2021 because I am a resident alien for tax purposes now, but my previous employer who I worked for until June 2021 did not withhold these taxes for 2021. I misunderstood the tax residency rules and my employer also did not catch this mistake. I only discovered the mistake after leaving the employer. I’m not sure how to fix this error. Any help would be appreciated!

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

7 Replies
pk
Level 15
Level 15

@ss1811 , you will have to provide more on your situation ----

which country are you from?  When did you enter the USA with F-1 and was this your first  entry?  Are you single ? Your earnings for 2020 was   part of a training program  or what?  Are you still F-1?  Are you still working with DHS permission / school or training related or what?

It is possible to be  a resident for tax purposes, be on F-1 and still be exempt from FICA -- depends on facts and circumstances -- therefore the questions.

ss1811
Returning Member

@pk thanks for the response. Details:

- I’m from India

- My first entry in F-1 status was in Sep 2016

- I am single

- Earnings in 2020 were partially from an on-campus job on CPT, and partially from a job on post-completion OPT. My earnings in 2021 were on post-completion OPT (I’m only concerned about 2021 taxes)

- I’m still in F-1 and working with DHS permission on OPT

pk
Level 15
Level 15

@ss1811 , first Namaste