Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Event: Ask the Experts about your refund > RSVP NOW!
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Claiming Spouse on H1b (Resident alien)

Hello,

I am a resident alien on H1-B status for filing taxes in the US.

I got married in Dec 2020 in India and my spouse came to the US in the middle of Jan 2021 an a student visa (F-1).  She wasn't in the US for the entire 2020.

So I have the below questions:

a) Should I file my taxes for 2020 as single or Married Filing Jointly?

b) If I need to file Married File Jointly; do I need to declare my spouse's India income in the US? [She is in the process of filing taxes in India since she worked in an organization till Dec 2020]

Please suggest.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

2 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
LinaJ2020
Expert Alumni

Generally, you cannot file Single.  You can only file either Married Filing Jointly or Married Filing Separately. You can only file single if you both are nonresidents and meet certain exceptions.  See https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/i1040nr.pdf ( page 17 under Single / Exception)

Since your spouse is a nonresident, to file jointly, you would need to make an election to claim her as a resident.  TurboTax does not provide any tools or forms to assist you to make the election, unfortunately.  You would need to follow IRS's instructions to attach the statement to your 2020 tax return.  You cannot e-file.  Instead, print out all your tax forms along with the statement and paper-file.  Click here to see Nonresident to resident