turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Claiming Adult Dependent When I'm on Social Security?

I've looked high and low for an answer to this question, and have come up short. I hope I'm in the right place to ask this. I'm new to requesting information in a public forum so please bear with me. 

My wife and I are both on Social Security and aren't required to file taxes. 

With the 2021 stimulus, adult dependents are eligible and we have a daughter living with us that fits the criteria. She has no income whatsoever.

We have already received 1400 each, for my wife and me.  She is not eligible for the recovery credit due to her being an adult dependent. The only information I have found for getting the stimulus for her is to file taxes. Which I was going to do, but I realized I cannot efile with 0 income. 

Do I have to resort to mailing in the  tax form? Or is there a way to efile with 0 income in this situation?  Is there  guidance for this situation? 

Any other information would be greatly appreciated. 

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
DawnC
Employee Tax Expert

Reporting the $50 you earned to drive someone somewhere is definitely reportable income that will allow you to e-file your return.   Generally, non-wage money earned from driving is considered self-employment which requires additional forms, reporting, and taxes.   However, if you had no profit motive, and this type of income was a one-time only event, you can report the $50 as hobby income.   But you can't use the Free Edition to report miscellaneous income; you can switch to the IRS Free File TurboTax program.

How do I switch to IRS Free File Program delivered by TurboTax?