Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Ask the Experts All About the Refund! >> Event happening NOW!!!!
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

KP2018
Returning Member

1099-MISC form in Box 3 requiring Schedule C but I'm not self-employed, I earned this income from a clinic affiliated with my primary employer while carrying out my regular responsibilities

I am a medical resident and as part of my residency program, we rotate at an outpatient clinic that my hospital is affiliated with a couple times per month. We are employed and paid directly by the hospital and the clinic is usually not involved in our pay.

However, the clinic provides an incentive for "meaningful use", which basically means you meaningfully used electronic health records (EHRs). For meeting that, I received $1000 on a 1099-MISC form in Box 3 as "other income" from the clinic directly (not my primary employer - the hospital). Other than that I received no income from the clinic - it's a one-time thing and my regular income was reported in my W-2 from my hospital. Does this mean I need to fill out a Schedule C for that $1000 of income? I am not self-employed, and it was earned while I was doing my job. 

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

2 Replies

1099-MISC form in Box 3 requiring Schedule C but I'm not self-employed, I earned this income from a clinic affiliated with my primary employer while carrying out my regular responsibilities

Yes you do because you worked to earn it
IsabellaG
Expert Alumni