turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Question about Student Loan Interest Deduction

I graduated from college two years ago but at age 26 I am still paying principal plus interest on student loans during the tax year. I took a full-time academic workload during my college career except for my final year where I took half the full-time workload. My MAGI is 48K; can I claim the student loan interest deduction for up to $2500 in interest paid during this year and up to $2500 in interest for subsequent years until the loan is paid off? 

If I understand correctly, as long as it participated in qualified education for a degree or certificate, I can deduct it regardless if I graduated years ago as long as those expenses are still incurred and paying them back?

I tried reading the publication but it did not specify where or not it was ok for graduated students.

Thank you!

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions

I found my answer!

"Time limit on deduction - The taxpayer can deduct interest paid during the remaining period of the student loan."

View solution in original post

3 Replies

I found my answer!

"Time limit on deduction - The taxpayer can deduct interest paid during the remaining period of the student loan."

KatieH
Community Manager

Thank you for updating the community, @pnwcommtax! Glad you found your answer!

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"