turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Mom wants to claim me.

I am 18 years old, and I am a full time college student living at home. My education is paid for in grants/scholarships. I worked at 3 different jobs this year and made over $3,300.00, while also attending 2 different colleges (Summer at one college Spring at another). My mom wants to claim me, but I am not sure how this will effect me. If my mom claims me does this effect my college? I wanted to do my taxes myself, but my mom says she can make more if she claims me. I have been told that if she does it could effect my college, and that I could make more money back if I claimed myself instead. Is this true?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
KenH1

Mom wants to claim me.

If your mother provided more than 50% of your financial support, then she should claim you as a dependent.

Your income was less than $6300 (your standard deduction), so your taxable income will be zero.  By her claiming you, you lose (and she gains) your $4050 personal exemption.  But you don't need it.

If all of your income was paid on a W2 (not a 1099), then you do not even need to file, unless you had taxes withheld that you want refunded.

By claiming you as a dependent, your mother would also potentially benefit from one of the Education Credits.

View solution in original post

5 Replies
KenH1

Mom wants to claim me.

If your mother provided more than 50% of your financial support, then she should claim you as a dependent.