turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

littlepeanut
Returning Member

Long distance marriage filing status - Husband in Michigan and Wife in Massachusetts

My husband lives and works in Michigan and I live and work in Massachusetts. We are unsure if we should file our taxes as married filing jointly or married filing separately. I am a student working towards my bachelor's degree for the first time. I know that I am unable to claim my education expenses if we file separately. If we file jointly, we are also unsure of how to state our residency status. Would it be better if we file separately?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

5 Replies
KathrynG3
Expert Alumni

Long distance marriage filing status - Husband in Michigan and Wife in Massachusetts

Yes, you are correct, there are many advantages to filing married filing jointly. TurboTax will help you capture these details in the state interview. 

When starting the state interview, here are the steps to follow:

• Identify yourselves as non-resident and resident with this protocol: 
    • Identify the spouse identified as Taxpayer first--so, if you are listed first in the return, you are the taxpayer. 

• Whoever is the taxpayer: Enter the nonresident state first
        • When asked about state residency, select Nonresident for taxpayer and Resident entire year for spouse.
        • Complete the interview for this state.
        • Be sure to report only the resident income as belonging to this state. 

• Enter the state the taxpayer lived in as of December 31, 2020. 
        • When asked about state residency, select Resident entire year for taxpayer and Nonresident for spouse.
        • Complete the interview for the second state.