Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

LoganLee
Returning Member

Just married and my wife still owns her previous home

My wife and I were recently married. This is the first year we are going to be filling together. She moved in with me. She kept her previous home and sublets it to her 25-year-old son with a roommate. They pay her rent to stay there because she still has a mortgage on it. I've been filing my taxes myself for 20 years now, but this is all new to me. Wasn't sure if her home is considered a rental property now? Is it just 2 homes, is there something you do when you live at one but just own the other and a family member lives there instead? Wasn't sure how to handle property taxes…etc. If in this situation, you file married jointly or married separately? Any advice before I get started would help. I'm tempted to just pay to have it all done this year, but I rather learn if it's not too difficult of a situation to continue to do myself.  Thanks!

x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

5 Replies

It is not just a second home if she is collecting rent. How much rent she collects determines whether or not it is a rental.

A Not-for-Profit rental does not charge full rental value. It generally relates to a family member staying there and helping to cover the costs. The rent received is income.

Not Rented for Profit

If you don’t rent your property to make a profit, you can’t deduct rental expenses in excess of the amount of your rental income. You can’t deduct a loss or carry forward to the next year any rental expenses that are more than your rental income for the year.

Where to report.