turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

My spouse does not have a ssn and no ITIN.

I cannot go to next step as it asks me to put in my wife's ssn/itin information. But she does not have a SSN/ITIN. I am a F-1 visa student and my wife is my dependent with F-2 visa. I want to add her in my tax return form jointly. But she does not have any income claiming a tax return. I am blocked to move forward before putting in her SSN/ITIN. What am I supposed to do?
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Reply
NatalieC

My spouse does not have a ssn and no ITIN.

If you are planning on filing as Married Filing Joint, and she does not have and does not currently qualify for a Social Security Number, then he will need to apply for an ITIN.  The following answer that I gave on this subject should be of assistance in helping you to file your return: 

To obtain an ITIN, you must complete IRS Form W-7, IRS Application for Individual Taxpayer Identification Number

The Form W-7 requires documentation substantiating foreign/alien status and true identity for each individual. You may either mail the documentation, along with the Form W-7, to the address shown in the Form W-7 Instructions, present it at IRS walk-in offices, or process your application through an Acceptance Agent authorized by the IRS.

The IRS provides the following instructions on how to an apply for an ITIN:

How do I apply for an ITIN?
Use the latest revision of Form W-7, Application for IRS Individual Taxpayer Identification Number to apply. Attach a valid federal income tax return, unless you qualify for an exception, and include your original proof of identity or copies certified by issuing agency and foreign status documents.