turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

kvido

I recycle for a living. How do I file my taxes?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

7 Replies

Do you receive income? interest, retirement, unemployment etc?
kvido

No.  I have my year report of what I've made from the recycler.  It's junk iron,  copper,  aluminum,  motors,  etc.
Coleen3
Intuit Alumni

You are considered to be self-employed. You would enter the amount of income you earned and deduct expenses, if any. If you do not have expenses, you may use Deluxe. IF you do, you will need to upgrade to the Self-Employed Edition.

1. First, sign in to My TurboTax
  2. Next, click the orange Take me to my return button
  3. On the white bar at the top, click Federal Taxes
  4. Then, Wages & Income
  5. In the Self-Employment section (you may need to click Show more), next to Income and Expenses, click Start (or Revisit)
  6. When asked "Did you have any self-employment income or expenses?" select Yes
  7. You'll see the screen titled "Tell us the type of self-employment work you do." Enter your description, then Continue
  8. On the next screen "Let's get income for [description]" select the button Additional income. Includes 1099-K, check/cash payments and Continue 
  9. The next screen will say "Tell us about additional income for your [description] work." List descriptions and amounts on this screen

I make good money on my recycles.

Yes income