turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

vlasiak

I'm a permanent resident of US, but since Jan to Apr 2018 I lived and worked in my country of citizenship and payed my taxes for these months there. Should I mention it?

I was a permanent resident of US (green card holder) for the entire 2018 (first time filing tax return this year), but in fact from January to April I lived and worked in Ukraine (my country of citizenship) and payed my taxes for these months there. In May I moved to US and from July to the end of the year I worked here and have a corresponding W-2 form. Should I mention my income from Ukraine somewhere when filing my tax return with turbotax even though it's already been payed off? If so, how does it impact my return?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
KarenJ
Intuit Alumni

I'm a permanent resident of US, but since Jan to Apr 2018 I lived and worked in my country of citizenship and payed my taxes for these months there. Should I mention it?

Welcome!

As a new green card holder in 2018, you need to  file a dual status return. 

Dual status return (part year nonresident and part year resident).  A dual status return has some restrictions.  You cannot use the standard deduction but instead must use itemized deductions.  If you are married, you can only file married filing separately.

To File a Dual Status Return: