turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

louqmani

I'm married to NRA. She lives in overseas with my Children. They don't have SSN. My W2 shows status of single. Is that possible to file as married and claim my Children?

I got married just after getting my visa to enter the U.S. So, I got status of single on my passport when enter U.S. Now I'm a permanent Resident. On my 2017 W2 it show single as my Marital statu but in reality I'm married since 2015. My wife and my Children live abroad, they don't have SSN. Is that possible to file my 2017 tax return as married and claims my Children?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions

I'm married to NRA. She lives in overseas with my Children. They don't have SSN. My W2 shows status of single. Is that possible to file as married and claim my Children?

You cannot claim your children, as they are not resident aliens nor permanent residents or citizens.

You can file jointly with your wife. But in order to do that, you must add a statement treating her as resident alien for the entire year (unless you already did that for 2016). You would have to report her worldwide income as well and apply for an ITIN for her on form W7.

Have a look at publication 54 https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/p54.pdf

View solution in original post

8 Replies

Since when do you have a green card? And when did you come to the US? On what visa? Do you  children have green cards? Since you are married, you do have to file as married, however, your options depend o your and your children's status.
louqmani