turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Dimitrios

I got unemployment last week of October 2016 and made $23,000 and still on unemployment do I report unemployment or wait next season?

Sorry for the stupid question this is my first time ever getting unemployment.
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions

I got unemployment last week of October 2016 and made $23,000 and still on unemployment do I report unemployment or wait next season?

Hi there!

You should have received a 1099G for your unemployment compensation for Oct-Dec. You need to report that income on your 2016 return. Navigate to the Wages & Income tab and then down to the Unemployment section. You can enter your unemployment there.

View solution in original post

17 Replies
Dimitrios

1099G? I chose to have my unemployment taxed so I didn't have to pay later on. I get $314 a week on unemployment. So I still report that??????????????????????????

Hey Dimitrios- Did you receive the 1099G? What state are you in? And if you chose to pay taxes on it awesome! You still need to report the income and then you will report the taxes you already paid on it to to reconcile.
Dimitrios

I looked and only found a 1095-C for health insurance. If I file for an extension will their be a fee? I Remember CT Unemployment telling us to download some sort of form for tax time. I will try Ct.gov and go from there.Any more tips would mean a lot I'm stressed out over this butn thank you so much for the fast response! 🙂

You can file an extension for no charge- <a rel="nofollow" target="_blank" href="https://turbotax.intuit.com/irs-tax-extensions/">https://turbotax.intuit.com/irs-tax-extensions/</a>...