turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

kcdc42

I was both a W2 and 1099 employee in 2016. I need some help understanding what forms I need to submit and when to make estimated payments.

I was a W2 employee from Jan to Oct & a 1099 employee from Nov-Dec (through a different employer). This is the first time for me as a 1099 employee so I am not very familiar with 1099 tax laws. I do know that I owe the IRS taxes because nothing was deducted for the two months I worked as a 1099 employee.  I am now back to W2 as of Jan 1st. 

1) How/when do I make estimated payments for 2016? Am I late in making payments already or can I wait till April 15 of this year?

2) Do I simply fill out the 1040 (like I did last year for W2) and add 1099 income to that? I need some help on what forms I need to fill.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
JaimeG

I was both a W2 and 1099 employee in 2016. I need some help understanding what forms I need to submit and when to make estimated payments.

Yes you are correct, you will prepare your return as you did last year regarding the W2 income. The income from which you received a 1099-MISC is where the options present themselves.