turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Do I pay what I owe for 2021 AND the estimated taxes for 2022? TurboTax says I have to pay estimated taxes for 2022. This would be the first time for me, so I'm confused.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

8 Replies

Do I pay what I owe for 2021 AND the estimated taxes for 2022? TurboTax says I have to pay estimated taxes for 2022. This would be the first time for me, so I'm confused.

I'm a non-expert, except that I have been filing my own returns for about 60 years.

Tax for 2021 and first of four estimated payments for 2022 are due by April 18(? something like that).  I pay those two with separate checks, and send each separately. Actually, since you are asking the question of Turbotax, suggest you e-file the 2021 amount, and send a check for the first estimated payment for 2022.  Send it out the same day you e-file so you don't forget! And I send the additional three estimated payments when each is due.   

MayaD
Expert Alumni

The first payment due date is 04/18/2022.

When you prepare your 2021 return, we'll automatically calculate your 2022 estimated tax payments and prepare 1040-ES vouchers if we think you may be at risk for an underpayment penalty next year.

The deadlines for tax year 2022 quarterly payments are:

1. April 18, 2022
  2. June 15, 2022
  3. September 15, 2022
  4. January 15, 2023

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"

So is it a suggestion to pay the estimated taxes or I have to?  Cause I know my taxes are going to be very different next year.  We bought and sold a house at the end of January 2022.