turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Didn't get a 1099 because contractor says they're "filing their taxes late" and gave me sum of wages for 2016. Worried because the number $4000 more than what I have...

So I've been asking my contractor to provide me with a 1099 for 2016 wage and she replies that she hasn't started taxes, would file late, and that she couldn't give me one. She did say just to total up the checks I got that use that amount. So I did the math, then asked her for the total she'll be reporting. It's $4000 more than the number I got.

Poking around I looked at the wages she paid me in 2015. There's a check issued for $4000 dated 01/04/2016 that went to the total wages for 2015 documented on that 1099, which I already paid taxes for. I'm figuring she is counting that check for the 2016 wages. Now I'm super scared.. She said she would check with her CPA...

• 1. If she does count that $4000, will I have to pay taxes again on it? (I can't afford this :( )
  • 2. Should I still file my 2016 taxes, or wait till I get a 1099?
  • 3. If that $4000 check was dated 2016, why did it get put on my 2015 1099?
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

5 Replies
IsabellaG
Expert Alumni

Didn't get a 1099 because contractor says they're "filing their taxes late" and gave me sum of wages for 2016. Worried because the number $4000 more than what I have...

You certainly have some serious issues with this contractor.

•  First of all, she's required to provide you with a 1099-MISC by 01/31/2017. She doesn't get to tell you that she'll give you a 1099 when she's ready. There is a penalty for that.